Image of Lehigh's Linderman Library. A three-story castle-like stone building with stained glass.


The Press

Lehigh University Press publishes books that make original contributions to scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. We consider proposals for monographs and edited collections in all relevant fields of scholarship within humanities and social sciences, including editions of significant unpublished material and primary texts.

Book Series

In addition, the press has six active series:


Lehigh University Press was established in 1985 with support from Lehigh's Science, Technology, and Society (STS) program and the Lawrence Henry Gipson Institute for Eighteenth-Century Studies

The Press's Director and Editorial Board manage the acquisition process of reviewing and selecting works for publication. Promising manuscripts are evaluated by scholars in appropriate fields, and their reports inform the Board's deliberations as it meets periodically throughout the year. Our books are produced and distributed by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group (RLPG), with which we have been affiliated since 2010.

The Press has had six directors: Nicholas Adams, professor of Art and Architecture; Stephen Cutcliffe, professor of history and director of Lehigh's STS program; Philip A. Metzger, for twenty years curator of Special Collections for the Lehigh University Libraries; Scott Paul Gordon, professor of English and co-director of the Gipson Institute for Eighteenth-Century Studies; Monica Najar, associate professor of history and co-director of the Gipson Institute for Eighteenth-Century Studies; and, since 2014, Kate Crassons, associate professor of English.